Our publications

Our publications

Please note:

If you click on ...read more.... you'll come to the French version.
In order not to overload our site and slow it down too much, we haven't put the English and Russian versions online. However, the English and Russian versions are available free of charge in PDF format on request. Please use our contact form to make your request, indicating the publication(s) you are interested in.

L'armoire Normande

"Dear Armoire" - I just want to repeat these words from Chekhov's "The Cherry Orchard", referring to the so-called armoire Normande. Of course, such armoires were made exclusively in Normandy, in north-western France. But this type of traditional French furniture, unlike other types of regional furniture, exists not only in Normandy, but throughout France and in other countries. ... Read more....
 

The symbolism of the thistle

In French arts and crafts, the image of a thistle is one of the oldest and most frequently represented motifs. In Russia, the thistle is simply a prickly herb, but in the European tradition, this unassuming evergreen is endowed with a special significance.... Readmore.....
 

SHIVA

Our website presents a unique Indian ivory sculpture with a very special plot, full of many details that require special comment.

This is a sculpture called "Shiva Parivar" (lot 4102). Shiva ("bringer of happiness") in the Hindu mythology of ancient India is one of the three supreme gods (along with Vishnu and Brahma) who form a divine triad like the Holy Trinity of Christianity. .... Read more.....

Georges SAND service

Services of this kind (a small liqueur carafe and a few miniature glasses) in France have a very special name - "George Sand service", in honor of the French writer George Sand (pseudonym of Amantine Aurore Lucile Dupin, Baronne Dudevant), who took a man's pseudonym to show her emancipation (and one of the first to wear men's suits in the 19th century), friend of Alfred de Musset, Franz Liszt, Honoré de Balzac, Gustave Flaubert, Eugène Delacroix, Victor Hugo, and former beloved Chopin .... Read more.....
 

Le grand dépôt Emile BOURGEOIS

We have several services on the site with special brands. Here, it's the brand of the famous Parisian Emile Bourgeois boutique. The famous French-style Emile Bourgeois store, located at Rue 21, Drouot, Paris, opened in 1862 and, until its closure in 1902, was devoted exclusively to high-end porcelain. .... Read more.....
 

The banker's mirror

The "banker's mirror" (or, as it is also known, the "magic mirror") became widespread in European noble circles in the 15th century. The creation of convex mirrors was linked to the great interest in optics that emerged in Flanders in the early Renaissance. .... Read more.....
 

Half-porcelain

In ancient times (since the early 19th century), dishes were made not only from pure porcelain or earthenware, but also from semi-porcelain or fine earthenware, occupying an intermediate position between earthenware and porcelain. .... Read more.....
 

The Boulle style, the Boulle technique

André-Charles Boulle (1642-1732), an outstanding French cabinetmaker and chisel-maker, is the creator of a unique technique: the combination of bronze, brass and marquetry in the service of art and craftsmanship. .... Read more.....
 

The ring makers

In France, there have long been such objects, small containers of various shapes, designed just to hold jewelry that has been removed for short periods (for storage, there are jewelry boxes or caskets). In the past, these baguiers came in a wide variety of shapes..... Read more.....
 

Liqueur cellars

By the end of the 18th century, the Cave à liqueurs had become an integral part of French society and travel, enabling notables to spend long periods in carriages. Since then, perhaps no other luxury item has been as popular in France's aristocratic circles as these artfully crafted liqueur cellars..... Read more.....
 

Oil or moderator lamps (and their restoration)

Dear visitors, a brief explanation of oil lamps and some of the visible features of their inner workings.

As you may have noticed, when these lamps are electrified they are, as a rule, top-fed, and this is not the result of a mistake by the master, but, on the contrary, a clear sign that the lamp, out of respect for its age, has retained all its original "complex inner world" and in particular its main component, the oil reservoir..... Read more.....

Dagobert's armchair (or Curule seat)

The "Fauteuil de Dagobert" is a type of traditional French armchair created from the image and design of the legendary bronze throne of King Dagobert I, who reigned in the 7th century.

For many centuries, the kings of France have sat on this throne in special ceremonies. In the 11th century, the throne, which symbolically passed from one monarch to the next (and by then was already quite dilapidated from constant use), was listed as a treasure of the Abbey of Saint-Denis. .... Read more.....

Restoring the chandeliers

The chandelier! How important this light-bearing object is for every home! This high source of light illuminates our daily lives and transforms them into little domestic feasts. The chandelier, the centerpiece of every home, is like the twinkling gaze of your domestic divinity, the first thing that catches the visitor's eye.
And how sad it is when that gaze is extinguished! How dramatic it is to see the magnificent crystal branches of antique chandeliers fail to stand the test of time, breaking off like dead branches...Read more...

Share this publication

Leave a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.

Nos publications

Nos publications

Attention :

Si vous cliquez sur …lire la suite…. Vous arriverez sur la version en français.
Afin de ne pas trop surcharger notre site et le ralentir nous n’avons pas mis en ligne les versions en Anglais et en Russe. Toutefois, les versions en Anglais et en Russe sont disponibles gratuitement au format PDF, sur simple demande. Pour cela, nous vous remercions d’utiliser notre formulaire de contact pour nous en faire la demande en nous indiquant la (ou les) publications qui vous intéressent.

 L’armoire Normande

«Chère armoire» – Je tiens simplement à répéter ces mots de «La Cerisaie» de Tchekhov, en parlant de la soi-disant armoire Normande. Bien entendu, de telles armoires ont été fabriquées exclusivement en Normandie, dans le nord-ouest de la France. Mais ce type de mobilier français traditionnel, contrairement à d’autres types de meubles régionaux, existe non seulement en Normandie, mais dans toute la France et dans d’autres pays.  … Lire la suite….
 

La symbolique du chardon

Dans l’art et l’artisanat français l’image d’un chardon est l’un des motifs les plus anciens et les plus fréquemment représenté. En Russie, le chardon n’est qu’une herbe piquante, mais, dans la tradition européenne, cette plante persistante et sans prétention est dotée d’une signification particulière…. Lire la suite…..
 

SHIVA

Notre site web présente une sculpture unique en ivoire indien avec une intrigue très particulière, pleine de nombreux détails qui nécessitent des commentaires particuliers.

C’est une sculpture appelée « Shiva Parivar » (lot 4102). Shiva (« apporter le bonheur ») dans la mythologie hindoue de l’Inde ancienne est l’un des trois dieux suprêmes (avec Vishnu et Brahma) qui forment une triade divine comme la Sainte Trinité du christianisme. …. Lire la suite…..

Le service Georges SAND

Les services de ce genre (une petite carafe à liqueur et quelques verres miniatures) en France ont un nom très particulier – « service George Sand », en l’honneur de l’écrivain français George Sand (pseudonyme d’Amantine Aurore Lucile Dupin, baronne Dudevant), qui a pris le pseudonyme d’un homme pour afficher son émancipation (et l’une des premières à porter des costumes d’homme au 19ème siècle), amie d’Alfred de Musset, Franz Liszt, Honoré de Balzac, Gustave Flaubert, Eugène Delacroix, Victor Hugo, et ancien bien-aimé Chopin …. Lire la suite…..
 

Le grand dépôt Emile BOURGEOIS

Nous avons plusieurs services sur le site avec des marques spéciales. Ici, c’est la marque de la fameuse boutique parisienne d’Emile Bourgeois. Le célèbre magasin à la française d’Emile Bourgeois, situé rue 21, Drouot, à Paris, a ouvert ses portes en 1862 et jusqu’à sa fermeture en 1902, il se consacrait exclusivement à la porcelaine haut de gamme. …. Lire la suite…..
 

Le miroir du banquier

Le « miroir du banquier » (ou, comme on l’appelle aussi, le « miroir magique ») s’est répandu dans les cercles de la noblesse européenne au XVe siècle. La création de miroirs convexes était liée au grand intérêt pour l’optique, qui s’est manifesté au début de la Renaissance en Flandre. …. Lire la suite…..
 

La demi-porcelaine

Dans l’Antiquité (depuis le début du XIXe siècle), les plats étaient fabriqués non seulement en porcelaine pure ou en faïence, mais aussi demi-porcelaine ou faïence fine, occupant une position intermédiaire entre la faïence et la porcelaine. …. Lire la suite…..
 

Le style Boulle, la technique Boulle

André-Charles Boulle (1642-1732), ébéniste créateur ciseleur fondeur français hors pair, est le créateur d’une technique unique : l’association du bronze et du laiton et de la marqueterie au service de l’art et l’artisanat. …. Lire la suite…..
 

Les baguiers

En France depuis longtemps existent de tels objets, de petits récipients de différentes formes, conçus juste pour y mettre des bijoux ôtés pour de courtes périodes (pour le stockage il y a des boites ou coffrets à bijoux). Autrefois, ces baguiers étaient de formes très variées….. Lire la suite…..
 

Les caves à liqueurs

Dès la fin du XVIIIe siècle, la Cave à liqueurs devient partie intégrante de la société française et du voyage, permettant aux notables de passer de longues périodes dans les carrosses. Depuis lors, peut-être aucun autre objet de luxe n’a eu autant de succès dans les cercles aristocratiques de France que ces caves à liqueurs, fabriquées avec art et luxe….. Lire la suite…..
 

Les lampes à huile ou à modérateur (et leur restauration)

Chers visiteurs, une petite explication sur les lampes à huile et quelques caractéristiques visibles de leur dispositif interne.

Comme vous l’avez peut-être remarqué, quand ces lampes sont électrifiées elle sont en règle générale, alimentées par le haut, et ce n’est pas le résultat d’une erreur du maître, mais, au contraire, un signe évident que la lampe par respect pour son âge a conservé tout son « monde intérieur complexe » original et en particulier son composant principal, le réservoir à huile….. Lire la suite…..

Le fauteuil de Dagobert (ou siège Curule)

Le « Fauteuil de Dagobert » est un type de fauteuil traditionnel français créé à partir de l’image et du dessin du légendaire trône de bronze du roi Dagobert Ier, qui régnait au 7e siècle.

Depuis de nombreux siècles, les rois de France se sont assis sur ce trône lors de cérémonies spéciales. Au XIe siècle, le trône, qui passait symboliquement d’un monarque à l’autre (et d’ailleurs, à cette époque, il était déjà assez délabré par son usage constant), a été inscrit sur la liste des trésors de l’Abbaye de Saint-Denis. …. Lire la suite…..

La restauration des lustres

Le lustre ! Combien cet objet porteur de lumière est important pour chaque foyer ! Cette source de lumière élevée illumine notre vie quotidienne et la transforme en petites fêtes domestiques. Le lustre, pièce maîtresse de chaque demeure, est comme le regard scintillant de votre divinité domestique, la première chose qui attire l’attention du visiteur.
Et quelle tristesse lorsque ce regard s’éteint ! Comme il est dramatique de voir les magnifiques branches ornées de cristal des lustres anciens ne pas résister à l’épreuve du temps et se briser comme des branches mortes…Lire la suite

Partager cette publication

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *